Idea to bind together and organize an interdisciplinary network of experts dealing with haemostasis and thrombosis, was originally initiated and created by internationally recognized eminent experts in this field, Prim. dr Radmila Baklaja and Dr Dzemal Rezakovic, which came to reality on October 20th, 1977 in Sarajevo. On that particular date, in the presence of numerous experts of various medical specialties engaged in problems of haemostasis and thrombosis from all important centers of ex Yugoslavia – Belgrade, Sarajevo, Zagreb, Ljubljana, Skopje, Novi Sad, Pristina and Zrenjanin, foundation assembly took place wherein Thrombosis and Haemostasis Section as an independent part of the Yugoslavian Haematology and Transfusion Association was founded and the 1st Experts Meeting of the newly founded Section was held.  

The first elected president of the Yugoslav Haemostasis and Thrombosis Section was the Serbia Academy of Science and Arts member, Prof dr Stanoje Stefanovic, and the first secretary general was Prim dr Radmila Baklaja. Elected vice presidents of the Section were: Prof dr B. Acceto (Ljubljana), Prof dr Dz. Rezakovic (Sarajevo), Prof dr G. Saciri (Pristina), Associate prof dr A. Lucic (Novi Sad), Associate prof dr I. Dejanov (Skoplje) and  Dr P. Ficovic (Zagreb), whereas the elected Section Board members were: Prof dr D. Adamov (Beograd), Dr J. Kezic (Beograd), Prof dr S. Boskovic (Sarajevo), Prof dr V. Luetic (Zagreb), Prof dr L. Pirnat (Sarajevo), Associate prof dr E. Gebauer (Novi Sad), Prim dr M. Rajic (Zrenjanin), Assist prof dr N. Simova (Skopje), Dr D. Andolsek (Ljubljana), Dr M. Belegu (Pristina), Dr N. Imeri (Pristina), Prof. dr A. Lazarov (Skoplje), Dr D. Grgicevic (Zagreb) and Dr M. Stegnar (Ljubljana).

Thanks to an outstanding enthusiasm and significant professional engagement of Prim dr Radmila Baklaja, in October 1979, the 2nd, highly rated Experts Meeting of the Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Section took place in Belgrade. The next, 3rd Experts Meeting took place in 1981 in Sarajevo, followed three years later by the 4th Experts Meeting in 1984 in Skoplje, as a specially organized Symposium within the VIII Haematology-Transfusion Days of the Yugoslavian Haematology and Transfusion Association. 

At the Assembly meeting held in Skoplje, chairing was transferred from Associate prof dr Ivan Dejanov to Prof dr Aleksandar Lucic, who took over the obligation to organize the next Experts Meeting in Novi Sad. 

The 5th Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Symposium with the International Participation took place in Novi Sad, from April 22nd to 24th, 1987.  Over 190 participants of various medical disciplines attended the Symposium, with a total of 82 scientific and professional presentations. Invited lecturers gave state of the art presentations in domain of their expertise, in the field of haemostasis and thrombosis: Prof dr H. K. Breddin (Frankfurt/Main), Dr Milica Brozovic (London), Prof dr K. Rak (Debrecen), Prof dr J. I. Iriarte (Bilbao), Dr M. B. Donati (Milano) and Prof dr H. Vinazzer (Linz).

After the Novi Sad Symposium, chairmanship of the Section was handed over to Prof dr Dusan Keber (Ljubljana), thus the following 6th Symposium of the Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Section took place in May, 1990 in Ljubljana, just before the Mediterranean Congress of Thrombosis and Haemostasis, organized for the first time in, at the time, still existing, common state of Yugoslavia, once again in Ljubljana.  

Dramatic falling apart of until then one common state which happened during the nineties, disturbed and changed from the roots our living and working habits, as well as our natural environment, and thus the acting and existence of our previously founded professional associations.  

Despite disastrous, horrific and tragic circumstances, all those who kept living and working in the departed parts of ex Yugoslavia and who still believed in the need to continue cooperation in the field of haemostasis and thrombosis as a priority with no other alternative, gathered together on December 12th, 1997 in Belgrade at the Experts Meeting dedicated to haemostasis and thrombosis and on that occasion they made a decision to establish the Society of Haemostasis and Thrombosis of Yugoslavia.  The first elected president of the newly founded Society was Prof dr Aleksandar Lucic. At the next Society Assembly meeting, chairing of the Society was taken over by Prof dr Ivo Elezovic, and from 2003, elected president of the Society was Prim mr sc. med. Dr Danijela Mikovic. Finally, on December 4th, 2008, at the Society Assembly Meeting held in Belgrade, Serbian Society of Haemostasis and Thrombosis was founded. The first elected president of the newly founded Society with a  prospect of longevity was once again Prim mr sc. med. Dr Danijela Mikovic, who made enormous efforts and successfully carried out the complicated procedure of the final transition transformation of the Society which now completely complies with all legal conditions and stipulations required for normal functioning in the country in which it had originally been founded and which it represents both on national and international level. 

It should be emphasized that the presence and participation in work and activities of the newly founded Society of a certain number of haemostasis and thrombosis experts from Serbia who very actively participated in the creation and functioning of the Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Section from 1977 till 1990, considerably contributed to the process of keeping the continuity, through the well organized functioning of a separate interdisciplinary thrombosis and haemostasis association, first within the common state known as Serbia and Montenegro, and today only in the Republic of Serbia.

Finally, following the tracks left by the Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Society, which cherished with great respect the inherited tradition of the Yugoslavian Haemostasis and Thrombosis Section, the currently existing Serbian Society of Haemostasis and Thrombosis will continue the  tradition left by and directions set forth by our predecessor, Yugoslavian (Serbia and Montenegro) Association of Haemostasis and Thrombosis.
Prof. Aleksandar Lucic